Our Paper (1st) Anniversary: How We Celebrated

You may not have known it was coming, but here is part two of my first anniversary dedicated posts!  The previous post was devoted to what I gave Graham as a gift, so this one is devoted to how we celebrated!

First thing you should know is that we moved from our apartment to a house our anniversary weekend.  We originally had this grand idea of going to Austin and keeping it “weird” and everything, but when you live where we lived you would choose moving instead also.  As a short side note: I absolutely LOVE our new place!  Not only are we away from our noisy upstairs neighbors, but we have our own free-standing building!  It may not be huge but it is perfect for our little family (Graham, myself, and the pup).  It even has a little yard for Matilda (said pup).  So, yeah, it was totally worth not going to Austin.  We will get there eventually!

Keeping that in mind, and myself knowing how tired we would be from moving and unpacking, I requested that we do something simple at our new place.  My husband sweetly kept asking me if I was sure, if he shouldn’t make reservations at some fancy restaurant, but I was absolutely positive.  And boy was I right.

The day of our anniversary was labor day, which was fantastic because my husband had the day off work!  I am still job hunting so I had no work to get in the way (har har… but seriously, job hunting is a job!).  We had a backup plan from the Austin trip to visit the Dallas Zoo, being new Dallas residents and all, but as I was going to bed Sunday night I realized all the things we needed to do/had to buy to keep making the house a home.  So when we woke up that morning, I announced to my husband the change of plans (to which he kept sweetly asking “Are you sure?  Are you sure?”) and we promptly went to cleaning and putting things away.  We then went to a couple places: World Market and Target, to get some stools, grill supplies, and other home knick knacks.

Then, Graham made his way to his freshly cleaned grill and whipped up some of his world famous burgers!  Okay, maybe not world famous but I requested them because they are my favorite. 🙂  While he was making the food/doing some chores I quietly decorated our dining room.  And by quietly I mean I told him not to come into the room while I created his surprise.  The ambiance I created are in some of the pictures that follow, but they definitely stayed with our “Paper” theme!

After dinner, Graham took me to Home Depot and let me pick out every married girl’s dream: a front-loading washer and dryer set!  I never thought I would be so excited about washing clothes!

All in all, it was a wonderful day!  A productive day building up our new home to remind us of the life we will constantly be building together.  It could not have been more perfect!

Moving Day

EDIT: Had to add this pic to the blog! So happy to be moving! Thanks to Cheri for the picture!

The Grill Master

The Grill Master himself! How adorable is the apron he made? And all of his Razorback accessories? We love our Hogs!

Jones Soda Boy Graham

Graham has a love for Jones Soda that goes way back. In fact, his group of friends in high school were called the “Jones Soda boys”. I couldn’t resist the personalized Jones! I mean, the label was printed on paper, right?

Flower Market Sign

A sign we found for our kitchen at world market. Our kitchen has this, um, unique floral wallpaper that we can’t change since we are just renting. So we decided to work with it!

Our Paper Anniversary Decor

The paper anniversary decor I created/used! The flowers were given to me by Graham, the mason jars are monogramed from our wedding (I ordered them from etsy last year), our engagement and wedding DVDs are leaning on the flower vase, and then I added a framed picture from the wedding next to that. Hanging is some heart garland I made!

Heart Garland

The hearts each have something I love about Graham on them. I cut them out of construction paper, used ribbon to tie them together, then hung them with wire hangers from our dining room light fixture. So easy to do, and I love how it turned out!

New Washer and Dryer

Our brand-spanking NEW washer and dryer!! well, the floor samples anyway. Ours will be white! The salesman said the dry cycle will be finished before the wash cycle… what?? Already in love!

2 thoughts on “Our Paper (1st) Anniversary: How We Celebrated

  1. Yay for a new home and washer/dryer! Does it have a hand wash setting? That is my dream, too! haha! 🙂 Glad that you two are so happy, this sounds like such a lovely anniversary celebration!

    Oh, and thank you – job hunting is absolutely a job in and of itself! *sends good interview vibes your way* 🙂

Leave a comment